Two Beers That Changed My Mind

Good American beer was an oxymoron, until this:

SIERRA NEVADA PALE ALE
A cold May day in London. Warm house, warm company, Indian food. A strange, new, chilled bottle of beer to be fetched from the outhouse beyond the backyard. But what a treat when popped open! And then a six-month wait before I could try another, Stateside.

BLUE MOON BELGIAN WHITE
This time, another year, a warmer day in June in upstate New York. Made warmer with the companyย of old friends. Outdoor seating. Surfing through a menu and fingering one on the list. Another lovely surprise! So much so that I had a couple more than I ordinarily would!

 

Americans, I am so pleasantly surprised. After years of quaffing Mexican and other imported beers on every holidayย to your country, I actually love both these. And I look forward to visiting again simply to have a taste again!

On that note, Happy Thanksgiving to those who are celebrating today, although remember to give thanks every single day!

24 thoughts on “Two Beers That Changed My Mind

Leave a Reply

