AVE HITCHKI*

This took off from a song I came across.Now traditional Indian folk music is not my everyday cup of tea, but there’s something about the tune that hooked me. The lyrics are about a lover who’s remembering and missing her man who’s gone off elsewhere in search of work.

  • AVE HITCHKI – Hindi for “I’ve got the hiccups”.
    According to old folklore, hiccupsย occur when someone is thinking about you.


Every fitful hiccup a gently violent reminder of her

Every spasmodic heartbeat an intermittent reminder of my love

Every fragmentary thought a momentary reminder of times

 

 

37 Comments

      1. Oh that’s interesting! How many dialects/languages are there in India? I guess there’s lots I need to learn still. ๐Ÿ™‚ While English is our primary language here, there are certain dialects like Cajun, and the deep south, and Hawaii’s “pidgin”, that definitely can be a challenge to understand!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hindi is the national language, but Official languages? I think 18! And dialects? More than 1600!! Yep, that’s not a typo! Our currency notes have the denomination written in all those 18 languages, one of which is English.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. You’ll love it here. Such natural beauty, great food, music, art, friendly people, and on and on. ๐Ÿ™‚ Let’s just give each other a heads up if we ever do book tickets.

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Even so, I like your scattered thoughts ๐Ÿ˜€ Well, I’m looking forward to more of those dreamy poems from you. I really enjoyed the previous one. I’m well. I’m going to be gainfully employed soon and looking forward to more travel opportunities. You know that bucket list we’re always dreaming about.๐Ÿ˜€ Enjoy you weekend too.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.